Shire of Dalwallinu

Area ~250 km north of the Perth and covers ~ 7,236 square kilometres.
Towns Dalwallinu, Wubin, Kalannie, Buntine and Pithara
Average Temperature Average maximum of 35.3°C in January and average minimum of 5.8°C in July.
Annual Rainfall Average rainfall of 284 mm (BoM, 2014).
ABS Profile Dalwallinu ABS profile

Click features on the map for more information. View full page map

A total of 1,295 people live in the Shire of Dalwallinu (ABS 2014) and the town of Dalwallinu is the largest with an approximate population of 590.

The Shire of Dalwallinu is experiencing slight population decline, with a 0.6% decrease since 2011.

In the Shire of Dalwallinu approximately 4.3% of the population are of Indigenous heritage. 17.7% population were born overseas and 82.3% were born in Australia.

Estimates of the resident populations as at 30 June are released annually for Local Government Areas (LGAs) in Australia by the Australian Bureau of Statistics. The estimates are generally revised 12 months later and final estimates are available after the following census. Visit the ABS website for further details.

The economy of the Shire of Dalwallinu is largely based on agriculture and associated industries (LandCorp, 2014).

Employment by sector (Service related industry, Retail related industry, Agriculture, fishing and forestry, Mining, Manufacturing, Construction, Other) is depicted in the chart below.

The main land uses as shown in the Local Planning Scheme for the Shire of Dalwallinu includes reserves, residential, rural, industrial and commercial.

Priority conservation areas includes, Buntine Nature Reserve, Jibberding Nature Reserve, Nugaddong Nature Reserve, East Nugadong Nature Reserve, Xantippe Nature Reserve, Old Store Nature Reserve, Sawyers Nature Reserve, Goodlands Nature Reserve and Carlyarn Nature Reserve.

Nature Reserves

Underlying the Shire of Dalwallinu is south west terrain which forms a part of the Yilgarn Craton. The area comprises of granite rock, gneissic banding and minerals rich in iron and magnesium.

The soils underlying the Shire of Dalwallinu includes loamy calcareous earthy soils, deep sandy and sandy earth soils, of yellow deep sand, yellow and brown sandy earths. Sodic subsoils of loamy and red loamy duplexes also occur in the area. The eastern portion of the shire is characterised by undulating sandplain, valley floors and a salt lake chain associated with an ancient drainage system. Emerging from the landscape are lateritic outcrop and broad sandy gravelly ridges. The western portion of the shire comprises of valley floors, salt lake chains and alluvial flats associated with an ancient drainage line, which is surrounded by undulating plain of sand dune and rises with long gentle gradients on weathered granite

Please go to the below link for more information on soil and geology in the region

Priority Fauna Species

IBRA Regions

  • Tallering sub-IBRA

    The Tallering sub-IBRA forms part of the Yalgoo IBRA. The Yalgoo IBRA is dominated by red sandy plain of low woodlands to open woodlands of Eucalyptus, Acacias and Callitris (Desmond and Chant, 2001d).

  • Ancient Drainage subregion (Avon Wheatbelt 1)

    The Ancient Drainage subregion occurs in the eastern LGAs of the NAR. This subregion is characterised by Proteaceous scrub occupies much of the lateritic hills and outcrops. The alluvial plains associated with the drainage lines is dominated by eucalypts, Casuarinas, York Gum and Jam wattle woodlands (Beecham, 2001a).

Threatened Ecological Communities

No items found

Priority Ecological Communities

  • Red Morrel Woodland of the Wheatbelt

    Tall open woodlands of Eucalyptus longicornis (red morrell) found in the Wheatbelt on lateritic, ironstone or granitic soil types. Sometimes found with Eucalyptus salmonophloia (Salmon Gum), or E. loxophleba (York Gum) woodlands and has very little understorey. It is also found directly above lake systems in the central and eastern Wheatbelt. The landscape unit in which it is found is valley floors, usually adjacent to saline areas.

    Category (WA) – Priority 1

    For more information visit the DPaW website.

Groundwater Areas

No items found


  • Moore River

    Drainage Basin Length (km) Catchment Area (km2) Average Stream Salinity (mg/L) Key Characteristics
    Moore-Hill 288 13,450 3000-35000 The Moore River’s eastern reaches (Moore River East) which originates near Dalwallinu, and northern reaches (Moore River North) commences east of Coorow. The major tributaries are the Coonderoo River and Gingin Brook. The Moore River enters the ocean at Guilderton and the estuary is only open to the ocean for a few weeks each year.


No items found

Liebe Group

Work P.O. Box 340 58 Johnston Street Dalwallinu WA 6609 Australia Phone: 08 9661 0570 Website:

Moore Catchment Council

Work P.O. Box 337 Moora WA 6510 AustraliaWork 1 Padbury Street Moora WA 6510 Australia Phone: 08 9653 1355 Website:

Northern Agricultural Catchments Council

Work Geraldton Office 201 Lester Avenue PO Box 7168 Geraldton WA 6530 Work Perenjori Office Corner of Fowler Street and Timmings Street PO Box 95 Perenjori WA 6620 Work Jurien Bay Office 69 Bashford Street PO Box 872 Jurien Bay WA 6516 Phone: (08) 9938 0100 (Geraldton) Phone: (08) 9973 1444 (Perenjori) Phone: (08) 9652 0872 (Jurien Bay) Website: NACC Website

Yarra Yarra Catchment Management Group

Contact: Peter Syme
Work Perenjori Office Timmings Street Perenjori WA 6620 AustraliaWork Kalannie Office Roche Street Kalannie WA 6468 Australia Website:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

17 − 9 =